Cartier against TUDOR
Cartier WSSA0018 vs TUDOR M2840D1A0-0001
10 published specifications differ between these two, and 1 are identical. Every figure below is what the manufacturer states for that reference; nothing is inferred from the other watch.
What differs
| Specification | ||
|---|---|---|
| Case | Steel case, large model, case width 39.8 mm | 40mm stainless steel case with polished and satin finish |
| Diameter | 39.8 mm | 40 mm |
| Water resistance | Water-resistant up to 10 bar (approx. 100 meters/328 feet) | Waterproof to 100m (330 ft) |
| Dial | Silvered opaline, with steel sword-shaped hands | Black dial with applied stick hour markers, date at 3 o'clock, day at 12 o'clock |
| Crown | 7-sided crown set with a faceted synthetic spinel | Stainless steel screw-down winding crown with the TUDOR logo in relief |
| Bracelet | Steel bracelet with SmartLink adjustment system, plus a second bracelet in calfskin; both fitted with the QuickSwitch interchangeability system | 5-link integrated bracelet in stainless steel, satin-brushed external and central links, polished intermediate links |
| Clasp | Interchangeable steel folding buckle | TUDOR T-fit folding clasp with safety catch |
| Calibre | Caliber 1847 MC | Manufacture Calibre MT5633 |
| Movement | Mechanical movement with automatic winding | Self-winding mechanical movement with bidirectional rotor system |
| Movement notes | Cartier publishes no power reserve, lug width or lug-to-lug figure for this reference. | TUDOR states a five-year transferable guarantee with no registration or periodic maintenance checks required. |
What is identical
Worth knowing as much as the differences: these are the specifications you cannot use to tell the two apart.
- Crystal
- Sapphire crystal
Stated for one, not the other
These rows cannot be compared, because one maker publishes the figure and the other does not. An empty cell is a gap in the manufacturer's documentation, not a gap in the watch — and not a licence to fill it in from the other column.
| Thickness | 9.38 mm | not stated |
|---|---|---|
| Bezel | not stated | Stainless steel bezel |
| Power reserve | not stated | Approximately 70 hours |
| Certification | not stated | COSC, tuned to −2/+4 seconds |
What the differences cost you
Each note below follows from the published figures in the tables above — what they mean for intake, for a listing, and for the handover. Nothing here estimates a price or a margin.
One needs sizing, the other needs stock
The WSSA0018 comes on a bracelet and the M2840D1A0-0001 on a strap. They are different jobs at resale: a bracelet has to be sized and its removed links kept with the watch, because a buyer who receives it short of links has received an incomplete watch. A strap is a consumable — check whether the one on the wrist is the one that should be in the photographs.
Different movements to verify and to service
The WSSA0018 runs the Caliber 1847 MC and the M2840D1A0-0001 the Manufacture Calibre MT5633. Two consequences at intake: the service history that is normal for one calibre is not evidence about the other, and the calibre is the check that catches a movement swapped into the wrong case. Confirm the movement matches the reference rather than assuming it from the dial.
What to check on each
WSSA0018
- Establish whether both bracelets are present. Cartier ships this reference with a steel bracelet and a second calfskin one, so a watch arriving with only the steel is an incomplete set.
- Work the QuickSwitch release on both bracelets and refit each once. It is the mechanism that makes the second bracelet usable, and a seized release turns a two-bracelet watch into a one-bracelet watch.
- Run the SmartLink sizing through a link removal and refit. It is toolless by design, the pushers are small, and a bent one is the commonest damage on this bracelet.
M2840D1A0-0001
- Treat the bracelet as part of the case. It is specified as integrated, so a damaged or missing bracelet is not solved by fitting a strap and a replacement is model-specific.
- Quote the published tolerance of minus two to plus four seconds a day. TUDOR states a tuned figure here beyond COSC certification, which is a stronger claim than most sheets offer.
- Set the day and the date separately across midnight and confirm both index cleanly. The day wheel is the component most often damaged by careless setting.
Sources
- Cartier official product page for reference WSSA0018 (Santos de Cartier, large model, steel) - Santos watch; Large model; Mechanical movement with automatic winding; Caliber 1847 Mc; Steel case; 7-sided crown set with a faceted synthetic spinel; Silvered opaline dial; Steel sword-shaped hands; Sapphire crystal; Steel bracelet with SmartLink adjustment system; Second bracelet in calfskin; With interchangeable steel folding buckle; Both bracelets are fitted with the QuickSwitch interchangeability system; Case width: 39.8 mm; Thickness: 9.38 mm; Water-resistant up to 10 bar (approx. 100 meters/328 feet). No power reserve, lug width or lug-to-lug figure is published on this page — retrieved 2026-09-23
- TUDOR official product page for reference M2840D1A0-0001 (TUDOR Royal 40; steel; integrated bracelet; day and date) - Case: 40mm stainless steel case with polished and satin finish; Waterproofness: Waterproof to 100m (330 ft); Bezel: Stainless steel bezel; Dial: Black dial, applied stick hour markers; date at 3 o'clock; day at 12 o'clock; Crystal: Sapphire crystal; Movement: Manufacture Calibre MT5633 (COSC), tuned to -2/+4 seconds; self-winding mechanical movement with bidirectional rotor system; Power Reserve: Power reserve of approximately 70 hours; Winding Crown: Stainless steel screw-down winding crown with the TUDOR logo in relief; Bracelet: 5-link integrated bracelet in stainless steel, satin-brushed external and central links, polished intermediate links, with TUDOR T-fit folding clasp and safety catch; Guarantee: Five-year transferable guarantee with no registration or periodic maintenance checks required — retrieved 2026-09-23
Not affiliated with Cartier or TUDOR. Specifications are read from each manufacturer's own published documentation on the dates shown and may change; the manufacturer's current documentation governs.