Skip to content

Free max-buy calculator for watch dealers — no signup needed. Open it

Seiko against Tissot

Seiko SPB317J1 vs Tissot T1208071105100

13 published specifications differ between these two, and 1 are identical. Every figure below is what the manufacturer states for that reference; nothing is inferred from the other watch.

What differs

Specification
CaseStainless steel, 41.0 mm316L stainless steel, 40.00 mm, with screw-down crown and caseback
Diameter41 mm40 mm
Thickness12.3 mm12.48 mm
Lug to lug46.9 mm40 mm
Water resistance200m / 660ft diver'sWater-resistant up to a pressure of 30 bar (300 m / 1000 ft) with screw-down crown
CrystalCurved sapphire crystal, anti-reflective coating on inner surfaceSapphire with one antireflective coating on bottom side
BezelUnidirectional rotating bezel316L stainless steel with mineral ring, anti-clockwise rotating, with Super-LumiNova on the case
Case backScrew case backScrew-down and see-through caseback
CrownScrew-down crownScrew-down
BraceletSilicone band, 20 mm between the lugsStainless steel, reference T605049459, interchangeable quick release
MovementAutomatic with manual windingSwiss automatic
Power reserveApproximately 70 hours80 hours
Movement notesPrecision stated as +25 to −15 seconds per day. Stop second hand and date display. Magnetic resistance 4,800 A/m. LumiBrite on hands, indexes and bezel. Total weight 100.0 g.Patented Nivachron balance spring. Date. Total weight 148.00 g. Country of manufacture given as Switzerland, with a stated two-year warranty. Tissot does not name a calibre on this page.

What is identical

Worth knowing as much as the differences: these are the specifications you cannot use to tell the two apart.

Lug width
20 mm

Stated for one, not the other

These rows cannot be compared, because one maker publishes the figure and the other does not. An empty cell is a gap in the manufacturer's documentation, not a gap in the watch — and not a licence to fill it in from the other column.

Dialnot statedBlack, with index markers and Super-LumiNova on the hands
Claspnot statedFolding clasp with safety lock and push-buttons
Calibre6R35not stated
Jewels24not stated

What the differences cost you

Each note below follows from the published figures in the tables above — what they mean for intake, for a listing, and for the handover. Nothing here estimates a price or a margin.

One of these is the harder fit

Lug to lug is 46.9 mm on the SPB317J1 against 40 mm on the T1208071105100 — a 6.9 mm difference across the wrist. Diameter is what buyers ask about; lug to lug is what decides whether a case sits flat or overhangs. Ask for a wrist measurement before shipping the SPB317J1, and put the figure in the listing rather than the diameter alone.

Do not describe these the same way

300 metres on the T1208071105100 against 200 on the SPB317J1. Both are more than daily life asks for, so the number is a listing-accuracy question rather than a practical one: quote each watch its own figure, and remember that neither rating survives an unserviced case by itself.

What to check on each

SPB317J1

  • Bend the silicone band fully back on itself at both lug ends and look into the crease. Silicone fails from inside a fold, and a flat inspection will miss cracking that is about to become a failure.
  • Confirm the calibre is the 6R35 rather than the 6R55 used elsewhere in this family. Both are 24-jewel automatics from the same maker, and they carry different reserves.
  • Weigh it against the published 100 grams. That is remarkably light for a steel 200-metre diver and is largely the band rather than the case, which matters if a buyer intends to fit a bracelet.

T1208071105100

  • Grade the bezel ring as mineral. Tissot specifies a mineral bezel ring here, which scratches in a way ceramic and sapphire inserts do not, so surface marking is expected wear rather than a defect.
  • Confirm the bezel turns anti-clockwise only. Tissot describes it as anti-clockwise rotating, so any clockwise movement at all is a failure of the safety design.
  • Thread and unthread both the crown and the caseback if you can. This reference specifies screw-down on both, and the published 30 bar rating is stated as conditional on the screw-down crown.

Sources

Not affiliated with Seiko or Tissot. Specifications are read from each manufacturer's own published documentation on the dates shown and may change; the manufacturer's current documentation governs.