Skip to content

Free max-buy calculator for watch dealers — no signup needed. Open it

Grand Seiko against Seiko

Grand Seiko SBGX353 vs Seiko SSH151J1

10 published specifications differ between these two, and 1 are identical. Every figure below is what the manufacturer states for that reference; nothing is inferred from the other watch.

What differs

Specification
CaseStainless steel, 34.0 mmTitanium with ceramic and titanium bezel, 43.3 mm
Diameter34 mm43.3 mm
Thickness10.7 mm13.4 mm
Lug to lug41.5 mm49.5 mm
Water resistanceSplash Resistant10 bar
CrystalBox shaped sapphire crystal, anti-reflective coating on inner surfaceDual-curved sapphire crystal, super-clear coating
Bracelet18 mm band width, 175 mm band perimeterTitanium; Seiko publishes a distance between lugs of 14 mm for this reference, which does not sit easily with the 43.3 mm case and should be measured before ordering parts
Calibre9F615X83
MovementQuartzGPS solar
Movement notesStated accuracy ±10 seconds per year. Magnetic resistance 4,800 A/m. Total weight 47 g. The product page lists no power reserve, jewel count or clasp type.Precision stated as ±15 seconds per month without receiving a GPS signal, at temperatures between 5°C and 35°C. Perpetual calendar to 28 February 2100, world time for 38 cities, dual time, chronograph to 12 hours in 1/20 second increments, power reserve indicator, DST, in-flight mode, automatic hand position alignment. Listed as allergy-safe metal. Magnetic resistance 4,800 A/m. Total weight 117.0 g.

What is identical

Worth knowing as much as the differences: these are the specifications you cannot use to tell the two apart.

Case back
Screw case back

Stated for one, not the other

These rows cannot be compared, because one maker publishes the figure and the other does not. An empty cell is a gap in the manufacturer's documentation, not a gap in the watch — and not a licence to fill it in from the other column.

Lug width18 mmnot stated
Bezelnot statedCeramic and titanium
DialPale blue, described as snow-inspired and made at the Shinshu Watch Studio; five-faceted diamond-cut indexes with a distinct marker at twelvenot stated
Claspnot statedEasy-adjust three-fold clasp with push button release
Power reservenot statedOperating for approximately 6 months when fully charged; power save approximately 2 years
Jewelsnot stated14

What the differences cost you

Each note below follows from the published figures in the tables above — what they mean for intake, for a listing, and for the handover. Nothing here estimates a price or a margin.

One of these is the harder fit

Lug to lug is 49.5 mm on the SSH151J1 against 41.5 mm on the SBGX353 — a 8 mm difference across the wrist. Diameter is what buyers ask about; lug to lug is what decides whether a case sits flat or overhangs. Ask for a wrist measurement before shipping the SSH151J1, and put the figure in the listing rather than the diameter alone.

These reach different buyers

43.3 mm on the SSH151J1 against 34 mm on the SBGX353. Diameter is a poor predictor of how a watch actually sits, but it is the field buyers filter on, so the two land in front of different people. Do not let one listing's photographs or copy stand in for the other.

A visible difference in how they wear

2.7 mm of thickness separates these, with the SSH151J1 the taller at 13.4 mm. That is the difference between a watch that goes under a cuff and one that catches on it — worth a photograph from the side rather than a number in a table.

Do not describe these the same way

The SBGX353 is rated to 0 metres and the SSH151J1 to 100. A rating is a factory figure for a new watch with fresh gaskets, not a promise about a used one — but the gap still matters in writing. Describe the SBGX353 in words a buyer can act on, and do not let a template carry the SSH151J1's language onto it.

Two different ownership conversations

The SBGX353 is quartz and the SSH151J1 is solar. That changes what a buyer needs telling at handover, and it changes intake: a hand-wound watch has no rotor to mask a tired mainspring, and a stopped quartz watch is usually a battery rather than a fault.

Different case materials, different handling

The SBGX353 is steel and the SSH151J1 is titanium. Different case materials mark, polish and refinish differently, so the condition language that fits one will mislead on the other. Photograph and describe each on its own terms.

What to check on each

SBGX353

  • Read the water resistance as written. Grand Seiko says splash resistant, not a bar figure, which means hand-washing is the limit and swimming is not contemplated at all.
  • Check the second hand lands exactly on each index, not near it. Precise hand alignment is one of the things the 9F calibre family is built around, and a hand that misses its marker is a visible defect on a watch sold on precision.
  • Confirm the box crystal is free of edge chips. A raised sapphire profile on a small dress case has nothing to shield it, and the glass fractures rather than scratches.

SSH151J1

  • Charge it in daylight and then trigger a GPS reception before you judge anything. A solar watch that has sat in a drawer or a dark safe will behave badly until it has been charged, and that is not a fault.
  • Run the automatic hand position alignment function. Hands that have drifted out of alignment make every other function read wrong, and the watch has a routine to correct it.
  • Confirm the in-flight mode can be entered and cleared. It suppresses GPS reception, and a watch left in it will appear to have lost its ability to find a signal.

Sources

Not affiliated with Grand Seiko or Seiko. Specifications are read from each manufacturer's own published documentation on the dates shown and may change; the manufacturer's current documentation governs.