Grand Seiko · Elegance Collection and Elegance Collection
Grand Seiko SBGW301 vs Grand Seiko SBGX353
11 published specifications differ between these two, and 2 are identical. Every figure below is what the manufacturer states for that reference; nothing is inferred from the other watch.
What differs
| Specification | ||
|---|---|---|
| Case | Stainless steel, 37.3 mm, with lugs described as Zaratsu polished | Stainless steel, 34.0 mm |
| Diameter | 37.3 mm | 34 mm |
| Thickness | 11.7 mm | 10.7 mm |
| Lug to lug | 44.3 mm | 41.5 mm |
| Lug width | 19 mm | 18 mm |
| Dial | Off-white, described as domed and gently rising at the centre, with diamond-cut peak-shaped hour indexes and hands bent by hand to follow the curve | Pale blue, described as snow-inspired and made at the Shinshu Watch Studio; five-faceted diamond-cut indexes with a distinct marker at twelve |
| Case back | See-through case back with six screws | Screw case back |
| Bracelet | Crocodile leather, 19 mm band width, 195 mm band perimeter | 18 mm band width, 175 mm band perimeter |
| Calibre | 9S64 | 9F61 |
| Movement | Manual-winding | Quartz |
| Movement notes | Mean daily rate +5 to −3 seconds per day; normal usage accuracy +10 to −1 seconds per day. Grand Seiko describes the mainspring torque as diminishing gradually so accuracy remains stable. Total weight 61 g. | Stated accuracy ±10 seconds per year. Magnetic resistance 4,800 A/m. Total weight 47 g. The product page lists no power reserve, jewel count or clasp type. |
What is identical
Worth knowing as much as the differences: these are the specifications you cannot use to tell the two apart.
- Water resistance
- Splash Resistant
- Crystal
- Box shaped sapphire crystal, anti-reflective coating on inner surface
Stated for one, not the other
These rows cannot be compared, because one maker publishes the figure and the other does not. An empty cell is a gap in the manufacturer's documentation, not a gap in the watch — and not a licence to fill it in from the other column.
| Power reserve | Approximately 72 hours (3 days) | not stated |
|---|---|---|
| Jewels | 24 | not stated |
What the differences cost you
Each note below follows from the published figures in the tables above — what they mean for intake, for a listing, and for the handover. Nothing here estimates a price or a margin.
One of these is the harder fit
Lug to lug is 44.3 mm on the SBGW301 against 41.5 mm on the SBGX353 — a 2.8 mm difference across the wrist. Diameter is what buyers ask about; lug to lug is what decides whether a case sits flat or overhangs. Ask for a wrist measurement before shipping the SBGW301, and put the figure in the listing rather than the diameter alone.
These reach different buyers
37.3 mm on the SBGW301 against 34 mm on the SBGX353. Diameter is a poor predictor of how a watch actually sits, but it is the field buyers filter on, so the two land in front of different people. Do not let one listing's photographs or copy stand in for the other.
Two different ownership conversations
The SBGW301 is hand-wound and the SBGX353 is quartz. That changes what a buyer needs telling at handover, and it changes intake: a hand-wound watch has no rotor to mask a tired mainspring, and a stopped quartz watch is usually a battery rather than a fault.
Different movements to verify and to service
The SBGW301 runs the 9S64 and the SBGX353 the 9F61. Two consequences at intake: the service history that is normal for one calibre is not evidence about the other, and the calibre is the check that catches a movement swapped into the wrong case. Confirm the movement matches the reference rather than assuming it from the dial.
What to check on each
SBGW301
- Wind it from stopped and count. A healthy manual barrel gives consistent resistance that builds smoothly to a firm stop, and grinding, slipping or a stop that arrives suspiciously early is the clearest single signal this inspection offers.
- Never force the crown past the stop. A hand-wound mainspring can be broken by an owner who expects an automatic's slipping bridle, and that is a repair you do not want to discover you caused.
- Look through the six-screw display back at the winding train while you wind. On a manual movement there is no rotor covering the view, so you can watch the parts that matter actually move.
SBGX353
- Read the water resistance as written. Grand Seiko says splash resistant, not a bar figure, which means hand-washing is the limit and swimming is not contemplated at all.
- Check the second hand lands exactly on each index, not near it. Precise hand alignment is one of the things the 9F calibre family is built around, and a hand that misses its marker is a visible defect on a watch sold on precision.
- Confirm the box crystal is free of edge chips. A raised sapphire profile on a small dress case has nothing to shield it, and the glass fractures rather than scratches.
Sources
- Grand Seiko official product page for reference SBGW301 (Elegance Collection; hand-winding mechanical) - Exterior: stainless steel; Case back: see-through case back; case back with 6 screws; Glass: box shaped sapphire crystal with anti-reflective coating on inner surface; Case size: diameter 37.3mm; lug-to-lug 44.3mm; thickness 11.7mm; Band width: 19mm; Band material: crocodile leather; Band perimeter: 195mm; Caliber: 9S64; Movement type: manual-winding; Power reserve: approx. 72 hours (3 days); Mean daily rate: +5 to -3 seconds per day; Normal usage accuracy: +10 to -1 seconds per day; Water resistance: Splash Resistant; Magnetic resistance: 4,800 A/m; Weight: 61 g; Other features: 24 jewels; off-white dial described as domed and gently rising at the centre with diamond-cut peak-shaped hour indexes and hands bent by hand; lugs described as Zaratsu polished; caliber 9S64 described as having torque that diminishes gradually so accuracy remains stable — retrieved 2026-09-22
- Grand Seiko official product page for reference SBGX353 (Elegance Collection; 9F quartz) - Exterior: stainless steel; Case back: screw case back; Glass: box shaped sapphire crystal with anti-reflective coating on inner surface; Case size: diameter 34.0mm; lug-to-lug 41.5mm; thickness 10.7mm; Band width: 18mm; Band perimeter: 175mm; Caliber: 9F61; Movement type: quartz; Accuracy: +/-10 seconds per year; Water resistance: Splash Resistant; Magnetic resistance: 4,800 A/m; Weight: 47 g; indexes described as five-faceted and diamond-cut with a distinct 12 o'clock marker; pale blue dial described as snow-inspired and made at the Shinshu Watch Studio; no power reserve, jewel count or clasp type is listed on the page — retrieved 2026-09-22
Not affiliated with Grand Seiko. Specifications are read from each manufacturer's own published documentation on the dates shown and may change; the manufacturer's current documentation governs.