Grand Seiko · Heritage Collection and Evolution 9 Collection
Grand Seiko SBGA211 vs Grand Seiko SLGA021
11 published specifications differ between these two, and 4 are identical. Every figure below is what the manufacturer states for that reference; nothing is inferred from the other watch.
What differs
| Specification | ||
|---|---|---|
| Case | High-Intensity Titanium, 41.0 mm. Grand Seiko describes the case and bracelet as High-Intensity Titanium, about 30 percent lighter than stainless steel | Stainless steel, 40.0 mm, described as embodying the Evolution 9 Style |
| Diameter | 41 mm | 40 mm |
| Thickness | 12.5 mm | 11.8 mm |
| Lug to lug | 49 mm | 47.9 mm |
| Lug width | 20 mm | 22 mm |
| Dial | Described as inspired by snow formations on the Hotaka mountains, produced by a special silver-plating process rather than painted white | Blue with a textured pattern, described as expressing the surface of Lake Suwa before dawn |
| Case back | See-through and screw case back | Movement visible from the back, with a decoration described as Shinshu Frost |
| Bracelet | High-Intensity Titanium, 20 mm band width, 193 mm band perimeter | 22 mm band width |
| Calibre | 9R65 | 9RA2 |
| Power reserve | Approximately 72 hours (3 days) | Approximately 120 hours (5 days) |
| Movement notes | Stated accuracy ±15 seconds per month (±1 second per day). Power reserve indicator on the dial. Blue tempered steel seconds hand with the Spring Drive glide motion. Listed as allergy-safe metal. Total weight 100 g. | Stated accuracy ±10 seconds per month (±0.5 second per day). Described as compensating for variations in the oscillator's performance by measuring the temperature 540 times per hour. The power reserve indicator is on the back rather than the dial, which Grand Seiko says slims the profile. Total weight 176 g. |
What is identical
Worth knowing as much as the differences: these are the specifications you cannot use to tell the two apart.
- Water resistance
- 10 bar
- Crystal
- Dual-curved sapphire crystal, anti-reflective coating on inner surface
- Clasp
- Folding clasp with push button release
- Movement
- Spring Drive, self-winding with manual-winding
Stated for one, not the other
These rows cannot be compared, because one maker publishes the figure and the other does not. An empty cell is a gap in the manufacturer's documentation, not a gap in the watch — and not a licence to fill it in from the other column.
| Crown | Screw-down | not stated |
|---|---|---|
| Jewels | 30 | not stated |
What the differences cost you
Each note below follows from the published figures in the tables above — what they mean for intake, for a listing, and for the handover. Nothing here estimates a price or a margin.
One survives the weekend and one does not
120 hours on the SLGA021 against 72 on the SBGA211. Below about sixty hours a watch left off the wrist from Friday is stopped by Monday. Wind both fully at intake and confirm they reach the stated figure — a short reserve leaves a tired barrel nowhere to hide, and it is the kind of fault a buyer reports in week two.
Different case materials, different handling
The SBGA211 is titanium and the SLGA021 is steel. Different case materials mark, polish and refinish differently, so the condition language that fits one will mislead on the other. Photograph and describe each on its own terms.
Different movements to verify and to service
The SBGA211 runs the 9R65 and the SLGA021 the 9RA2. Two consequences at intake: the service history that is normal for one calibre is not evidence about the other, and the calibre is the check that catches a movement swapped into the wrong case. Confirm the movement matches the reference rather than assuming it from the dial.
What to check on each
SBGA211
- Watch the seconds hand for ten unbroken seconds. Spring Drive does not tick — the hand sweeps continuously, and any stutter or jump means something is wrong that no photograph would have shown you.
- Wind it fully, note the reserve indicator's position, then leave it face up overnight and read the indicator again. It should have fallen by roughly a third of its range, and a much faster fall is a real finding.
- Run a fingernail across the titanium case flanks. Titanium marks differently from steel — it scuffs greyer and shallower — so judge the finish on its own terms rather than against a steel bracelet you handled last week.
SLGA021
- Turn the watch over to read the power reserve. On this calibre the indicator is on the back, so an inspection that never leaves the dial side has skipped the most useful gauge the watch has.
- Allow five days, not one, to test the reserve properly. A movement specified at approximately 120 hours can hide a weak barrel through an overnight check that a shorter-reserve watch would fail immediately.
- Time it against ±10 seconds per month rather than a daily figure. That works out near half a second a day, so a watch losing several seconds daily is far outside its own specification.
Sources
- Grand Seiko official product page for reference SBGA211 (Heritage Collection; Automatic Spring Drive 3-Day; nickname Snowflake) - Exterior: High-Intensity Titanium; Case back: see-through and screw case back; Glass: dual-curved sapphire crystal with anti-reflective coating on inner surface; Case size: diameter 41.0mm; lug-to-lug 49.0mm; thickness 12.5mm; Band width: 20mm; Clasp: folding clasp with push button release; Band perimeter: 193mm; Caliber: 9R65; Movement type: Spring Drive self-winding with manual-winding; Power reserve: approx. 72 hours (3 days); Accuracy: +/-15 seconds per month (+/-1 second per day); Water resistance: 10 bar; Magnetic resistance: 4,800 A/m; Weight: 100 g; Other features: screw-down crown; allergy-safe metal; 30 jewels; power reserve indicator; dial described as inspired by snow formations on the Hotaka mountains and made by a special silver-plating process rather than painted white; blue tempered steel seconds hand with Spring Drive glide motion; case and bracelet described as High-Intensity Titanium about 30% lighter than stainless steel — retrieved 2026-09-22
- Grand Seiko official product page for reference SLGA021 (Evolution 9 Collection; Spring Drive 5 Days) - Exterior: stainless steel; Glass: dual-curved sapphire crystal with anti-reflective coating on inner surface; Case size: diameter 40.0mm; lug-to-lug 47.9mm; thickness 11.8mm; Band width: 22mm; Clasp: folding clasp with push button release; Caliber: 9RA2; Movement type: Spring Drive self-winding with manual-winding; Power reserve: approx. 120 hours (5 days); Accuracy: +/-10 seconds per month (+/-0.5 second per day); Water resistance: 10 bar; Magnetic resistance: 4,800 A/m; Weight: 176 g; Other features: power reserve indicator; caliber 9RA2 described as compensating for variations in the oscillator's performance by measuring the temperature 540 times per hour, with the power reserve indicator placed on the back to slim the profile, and a case back decoration described as Shinshu Frost; blue dial described as expressing the surface of Lake Suwa before dawn — retrieved 2026-09-22
Not affiliated with Grand Seiko. Specifications are read from each manufacturer's own published documentation on the dates shown and may change; the manufacturer's current documentation governs.