Grand Seiko · Heritage Collection and Sport Collection
Grand Seiko SBGA211 vs Grand Seiko SBGE295
10 published specifications differ between these two, and 5 are identical. Every figure below is what the manufacturer states for that reference; nothing is inferred from the other watch.
What differs
| Specification | ||
|---|---|---|
| Case | High-Intensity Titanium, 41.0 mm. Grand Seiko describes the case and bracelet as High-Intensity Titanium, about 30 percent lighter than stainless steel | Stainless steel, 44.0 mm |
| Diameter | 41 mm | 44 mm |
| Thickness | 12.5 mm | 14.7 mm |
| Lug to lug | 49 mm | 50.8 mm |
| Lug width | 20 mm | 21 mm |
| Water resistance | 10 bar | 20 bar |
| Dial | Described as inspired by snow formations on the Hotaka mountains, produced by a special silver-plating process rather than painted white | Green, described as inspired by the cliffs of the Hotaka Mountains in summer |
| Bracelet | High-Intensity Titanium, 20 mm band width, 193 mm band perimeter | 21 mm band width, 194 mm band perimeter |
| Calibre | 9R65 | 9R66 |
| Movement notes | Stated accuracy ±15 seconds per month (±1 second per day). Power reserve indicator on the dial. Blue tempered steel seconds hand with the Spring Drive glide motion. Listed as allergy-safe metal. Total weight 100 g. | Stated accuracy ±15 seconds per month (±1 second per day). 24-hour hand for dual time display, power reserve indicator, calendar-linked time difference adjustment. Described as the first Spring Drive movement to incorporate a GMT mechanism. Total weight 186 g. |
What is identical
Worth knowing as much as the differences: these are the specifications you cannot use to tell the two apart.
- Crystal
- Dual-curved sapphire crystal, anti-reflective coating on inner surface
- Clasp
- Folding clasp with push button release
- Movement
- Spring Drive, self-winding with manual-winding
- Power reserve
- Approximately 72 hours (3 days)
- Jewels
- 30
Stated for one, not the other
These rows cannot be compared, because one maker publishes the figure and the other does not. An empty cell is a gap in the manufacturer's documentation, not a gap in the watch — and not a licence to fill it in from the other column.
| Bezel | not stated | Two-way rotating bezel with an insert made of sapphire glass, white LumiBrite across the daytime hours |
|---|---|---|
| Case back | See-through and screw case back | not stated |
| Crown | Screw-down | not stated |
What the differences cost you
Each note below follows from the published figures in the tables above — what they mean for intake, for a listing, and for the handover. Nothing here estimates a price or a margin.
One of these is the harder fit
Lug to lug is 50.8 mm on the SBGE295 against 49 mm on the SBGA211 — a 1.8 mm difference across the wrist. Diameter is what buyers ask about; lug to lug is what decides whether a case sits flat or overhangs. Ask for a wrist measurement before shipping the SBGE295, and put the figure in the listing rather than the diameter alone.
These reach different buyers
44 mm on the SBGE295 against 41 mm on the SBGA211. Diameter is a poor predictor of how a watch actually sits, but it is the field buyers filter on, so the two land in front of different people. Do not let one listing's photographs or copy stand in for the other.
A visible difference in how they wear
2.2 mm of thickness separates these, with the SBGE295 the taller at 14.7 mm. That is the difference between a watch that goes under a cuff and one that catches on it — worth a photograph from the side rather than a number in a table.
Do not describe these the same way
200 metres on the SBGE295 against 100 on the SBGA211. Both are more than daily life asks for, so the number is a listing-accuracy question rather than a practical one: quote each watch its own figure, and remember that neither rating survives an unserviced case by itself.
Different case materials, different handling
The SBGA211 is titanium and the SBGE295 is steel. Different case materials mark, polish and refinish differently, so the condition language that fits one will mislead on the other. Photograph and describe each on its own terms.
What to check on each
SBGA211
- Watch the seconds hand for ten unbroken seconds. Spring Drive does not tick — the hand sweeps continuously, and any stutter or jump means something is wrong that no photograph would have shown you.
- Wind it fully, note the reserve indicator's position, then leave it face up overnight and read the indicator again. It should have fallen by roughly a third of its range, and a much faster fall is a real finding.
- Run a fingernail across the titanium case flanks. Titanium marks differently from steel — it scuffs greyer and shallower — so judge the finish on its own terms rather than against a steel bracelet you handled last week.
SBGE295
- Inspect the sapphire bezel insert for chips rather than scratches, and do it from a low angle with light raking across it. Sapphire resists abrasion and fractures instead, so the damage it takes is a bright conchoidal flake, not a scuff.
- Check the LumiBrite printed across the daytime hours of the bezel is unbroken and matches the dial under a torch. It is applied to only part of the scale by design, which is easy to mistake for missing material.
- Confirm the bezel turns both ways and stops where you leave it. Grand Seiko specifies a two-way bezel here, so a stiff or one-directional action is a fault, not a safety feature.
Sources
- Grand Seiko official product page for reference SBGA211 (Heritage Collection; Automatic Spring Drive 3-Day; nickname Snowflake) - Exterior: High-Intensity Titanium; Case back: see-through and screw case back; Glass: dual-curved sapphire crystal with anti-reflective coating on inner surface; Case size: diameter 41.0mm; lug-to-lug 49.0mm; thickness 12.5mm; Band width: 20mm; Clasp: folding clasp with push button release; Band perimeter: 193mm; Caliber: 9R65; Movement type: Spring Drive self-winding with manual-winding; Power reserve: approx. 72 hours (3 days); Accuracy: +/-15 seconds per month (+/-1 second per day); Water resistance: 10 bar; Magnetic resistance: 4,800 A/m; Weight: 100 g; Other features: screw-down crown; allergy-safe metal; 30 jewels; power reserve indicator; dial described as inspired by snow formations on the Hotaka mountains and made by a special silver-plating process rather than painted white; blue tempered steel seconds hand with Spring Drive glide motion; case and bracelet described as High-Intensity Titanium about 30% lighter than stainless steel — retrieved 2026-09-22
- Grand Seiko official product page for reference SBGE295 (Sport Collection; Automatic Spring Drive 3-Day GMT) - Exterior: stainless steel; Glass: dual-curved sapphire crystal with anti-reflective coating on inner surface; LumiBrite on hands, indexes and bezel; Case size: diameter 44.0mm; lug-to-lug 50.8mm; thickness 14.7mm; Band width: 21mm; Clasp: folding clasp with push button release; Band perimeter: 194mm; Caliber: 9R66; Movement type: Spring Drive self-winding with manual-winding; Power reserve: approx. 72 hours (3 days); Accuracy: +/-15 seconds per month (+/-1 second per day); Water resistance: 20 bar; Magnetic resistance: 4,800 A/m; Weight: 186 g; Other features: 30 jewels; 24-hour hand (dual time display function); power reserve indicator; calendar-linked time difference adjustment function; two-way rotating bezel fitted with an insert made of sapphire glass; white LumiBrite applied across the daytime hours; green dial described as inspired by the Hotaka Mountains in summer; caliber 9R66 described as the first Spring Drive movement to incorporate a GMT mechanism — retrieved 2026-09-22
Not affiliated with Grand Seiko. Specifications are read from each manufacturer's own published documentation on the dates shown and may change; the manufacturer's current documentation governs.