Cartier · Tank Louis Cartier and Tank Must de Cartier
Cartier WGTA0011 vs Cartier WSTA0106
7 published specifications differ between these two, and 1 are identical. Every figure below is what the manufacturer states for that reference; nothing is inferred from the other watch.
What differs
| Specification | ||
|---|---|---|
| Case | Case in rose gold 750/1000, medium model per the specification, case dimensions 33.7 mm x 25.5 mm | Steel case, large model, case dimensions 33.7 x 25.5 mm |
| Water resistance | Water-resistant to 3 bar (30 meters) | Water-resistant up to 3 bar (approx. 30 meters/100 feet) |
| Dial | Silvered beaded, with blued-steel sword-shaped hands | Silvered, with blued-steel sword-shaped hands |
| Crown | Beaded crown set with a sapphire cabochon | Beaded crown set with a synthetic cabochon-shaped spinel |
| Bracelet | Strap in semi-matte brown alligator skin | Interchangeable steel bracelet |
| Movement | Manufacture mechanical movement with manual winding | High Autonomy quartz movement |
| Movement notes | Cartier publishes no power reserve for this reference. The product page title and og:title both read Tank Louis Watch - Rose Gold, Large Model, which contradicts the specification bullet stating Medium model. | Cartier names no calibre for this reference and publishes no battery life figure, despite describing the movement as High Autonomy. No crystal material or lug width is published either. |
What is identical
Worth knowing as much as the differences: these are the specifications you cannot use to tell the two apart.
- Thickness
- 6.6 mm
Stated for one, not the other
These rows cannot be compared, because one maker publishes the figure and the other does not. An empty cell is a gap in the manufacturer's documentation, not a gap in the watch — and not a licence to fill it in from the other column.
| Crystal | Mineral crystal | not stated |
|---|---|---|
| Clasp | Ardillon buckle in rose gold 750/1000 | not stated |
| Calibre | Caliber 1917 MC | not stated |
What the differences cost you
Each note below follows from the published figures in the tables above — what they mean for intake, for a listing, and for the handover. Nothing here estimates a price or a margin.
Two different ownership conversations
The WGTA0011 is hand-wound and the WSTA0106 is quartz. That changes what a buyer needs telling at handover, and it changes intake: a hand-wound watch has no rotor to mask a tired mainspring, and a stopped quartz watch is usually a battery rather than a fault.
One of these is a different asset to hold
The WGTA0011 has a gold case and the WSTA0106 is steel. That is not just a price difference: a precious-metal case changes what your insurer needs told, how the piece should be stored and handled, and — in some jurisdictions — whether trading it puts you under a precious-metals rule your steel stock would not. Check your own city guide before you assume they are the same transaction.
One needs sizing, the other needs stock
The WSTA0106 comes on a bracelet and the WGTA0011 on a strap. They are different jobs at resale: a bracelet has to be sized and its removed links kept with the watch, because a buyer who receives it short of links has received an incomplete watch. A strap is a consumable — check whether the one on the wrist is the one that should be in the photographs.
What to check on each
WGTA0011
- Grade the crystal as mineral, not sapphire. Cartier specifies mineral glass here, which scratches in ordinary use and can often be polished, and describing it as sapphire is a claim the maker does not make.
- Note that Cartier's own page title says Large model while its specification says Medium. Quote the specification and say the title disagrees, rather than picking whichever suits the sale.
- Wind it from stopped and treat the stop as absolute, since the 1917 MC is hand-wound with nothing protecting the mainspring.
WSTA0106
- Quote the case as 33.7 by 25.5 millimetres rather than converting it to a diameter. A Tank is rectangular and has no diameter to state.
- Note that Cartier publishes no crystal material for this reference. Report what you observe on the watch and label it as your own observation rather than as a specification.
- Do not attach a battery life figure to the phrase High Autonomy. Cartier states no number, and one taken from elsewhere is not a specification.
Sources
- Cartier official product page for reference WGTA0011 (Tank Louis Cartier, rose gold) - Tank Louis Cartier watch; Medium model [the page title and og:title both read 'Tank Louis Watch - Rose Gold, Large Model', which contradicts the specification bullet]; Manufacture mechanical movement with manual winding; Caliber 1917Mc; Case in rose gold 750/1000; Beaded crown set with a sapphire cabochon; Silvered beaded dial; Blued-steel sword-shaped hands; Mineral crystal; Strap in semi-matte brown alligator skin; Ardillon buckle in rose gold 750/1000; Case dimensions: 33.7 mm x 25.5 mm; 6.6 mm thick; Water-resistant to 3 bar (30 meters). No power reserve figure is published on this page — retrieved 2026-09-23
- Cartier official product page for reference WSTA0106 (Tank Must de Cartier, large model, steel) - Tank Must watch; Large model; High Autonomy quartz movement; Steel case; Beaded crown set with a synthetic cabochon-shaped spinel; Silvered dial; Blued-steel sword-shaped hands; Interchangeable steel bracelet; Case dimensions: 33.7 x 25.5 mm; Thickness: 6.6 mm; Water-resistant up to 3 bar (approx. 30 meters/100 feet). No crystal material, caliber number, power reserve or lug width is published on this page — retrieved 2026-09-23
Not affiliated with Cartier. Specifications are read from each manufacturer's own published documentation on the dates shown and may change; the manufacturer's current documentation governs.