Breitling · Chronomat and Chronomat
Breitling A10320101A1A1 vs Breitling AB0158101A1A1
12 published specifications differ between these two, and 2 are identical. Every figure below is what the manufacturer states for that reference; nothing is inferred from the other watch.
What differs
| Specification | ||
|---|---|---|
| Case | Stainless steel, 36 mm | Stainless steel, 42 mm |
| Diameter | 36 mm | 42 mm |
| Thickness | 9.68 mm | 13.77 mm |
| Lug width | 16.05 mm | 20.05 mm |
| Water resistance | 10 bars (100 m / 330 ft) | 20 bars (200 m / 660 ft) |
| Dial | Mother-of-pearl, as stated in the page description | White, as stated in the page description |
| Crown | Non screw-locked, two gaskets | Screw-locked, two gaskets |
| Bracelet | Stainless steel bracelet, straight, 20 mm | Stainless steel bracelet, straight, 20/20 mm |
| Calibre | Breitling 10 | Breitling 01 (Manufacture) |
| Power reserve | Approximately 42 hours | Approximately 70 hours |
| Jewels | 25 | 47 |
| Movement notes | Calendar shown in a dial aperture. | Chronograph to 1/4th second, with 30-minute and 12-hour totalisers. Calendar shown in a dial aperture. |
What is identical
Worth knowing as much as the differences: these are the specifications you cannot use to tell the two apart.
- Movement
- Self-winding mechanical
- Frequency
- 28,800 v.p.h
Stated for one, not the other
These rows cannot be compared, because one maker publishes the figure and the other does not. An empty cell is a gap in the manufacturer's documentation, not a gap in the watch — and not a licence to fill it in from the other column.
| Crystal | not stated | Sapphire |
|---|---|---|
| Bezel | not stated | Unidirectional, ratcheted |
| Case back | not stated | Screwed in (sapphire crystal) |
What the differences cost you
Each note below follows from the published figures in the tables above — what they mean for intake, for a listing, and for the handover. Nothing here estimates a price or a margin.
These reach different buyers
42 mm on the AB0158101A1A1 against 36 mm on the A10320101A1A1. Diameter is a poor predictor of how a watch actually sits, but it is the field buyers filter on, so the two land in front of different people. Do not let one listing's photographs or copy stand in for the other.
A visible difference in how they wear
4.1 mm of thickness separates these, with the AB0158101A1A1 the taller at 13.8 mm. That is the difference between a watch that goes under a cuff and one that catches on it — worth a photograph from the side rather than a number in a table.
Do not describe these the same way
200 metres on the AB0158101A1A1 against 100 on the A10320101A1A1. Both are more than daily life asks for, so the number is a listing-accuracy question rather than a practical one: quote each watch its own figure, and remember that neither rating survives an unserviced case by itself.
One survives the weekend and one does not
70 hours on the AB0158101A1A1 against 42 on the A10320101A1A1. Below about sixty hours a watch left off the wrist from Friday is stopped by Monday. Wind both fully at intake and confirm they reach the stated figure — a short reserve leaves a tired barrel nowhere to hide, and it is the kind of fault a buyer reports in week two.
What to check on each
A10320101A1A1
- Photograph the mother-of-pearl dial from at least three angles. It is a natural material whose figuring differs on every example, so a single flat image does not describe the watch a buyer will receive.
- Look for hairline cracks and lifted edges in the nacre under a loupe, particularly around the date aperture and the applied markers where the material is cut.
- Note that this page publishes no crystal, bezel or case back line. Do not fill those gaps from another Chronomat, and say in the listing that the maker does not state them.
AB0158101A1A1
- Check the bracelet taper against the published 20/20 mm figure. This reference does not narrow toward the clasp, which is unusual and changes which aftermarket straps will fit.
- Confirm the bezel ratchets one way only and holds firmly. A chronograph with a dive-style bezel invites the buyer to use it as one, so it needs to behave like one.
- Test the chronograph under load for twelve full hours. The 12-hour totaliser is the register nobody exercises and the one a tired movement struggles with.
Sources
- Breitling official product page for reference A10320101A1A1 (Chronomat Automatic 36) - Caliber: Breitling 10; Movement: self-winding mechanical; Power reserve: approx. 42 hours; Vibration: 28,800 v.p.h; Jewel: 25 jewels; Calendar: dial aperture; Case material: stainless steel; Water resistance: 10 bars (100 m / 330 ft); Crown: non screw-locked, two gaskets; Diameter: 36 mm; Thickness: 9.68 mm; Lug width (in-between lug): 16.05 mm; Strap material: stainless steel; Strap color: metal bracelet; Strap type: straight; Lug: 20 mm; page meta description states a mother-of-pearl dial; no caseback, bezel or crystal line is published on this page — retrieved 2026-09-22
- Breitling official product page for reference AB0158101A1A1 (Chronomat B01 Chronograph 42) - Caliber: Breitling 01 (Manufacture); Movement: self-winding mechanical; Power reserve: approx. 70 hrs; Chronograph: 1/4th second, 30 minutes, 12 hours; Vibration: 28,800 v.p.h; Jewel: 47 jewels; Calendar: dial aperture; Case material: stainless steel; Caseback: screwed in (sapphire crystal); Water resistance: 20 bars (200 m / 660 ft); Bezel: unidirectional, ratcheted; Crown: screw-locked, two gaskets; Crystal: sapphire; Diameter: 42 mm; Thickness: 13.77 mm; Lug width (in-between lug): 20.05 mm; Strap material: stainless steel; Strap color: metal bracelet; Strap type: straight; Lug: 20/20 mm; page meta description states a white dial — retrieved 2026-09-22
Not affiliated with Breitling. Specifications are read from each manufacturer's own published documentation on the dates shown and may change; the manufacturer's current documentation governs.